Menu Close

Which Are The Teams That Won The World Cup Without Losing a Match?

Which are the teams that won the World Cup without losing a match?

Which are the teams that won the World Cup without losing a match? ICC Cricket World Cup is undoubtedly the biggest event in the world of cricket which every team wants to win. All the ten teams participating in the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup in India tried their best to win the mega event, but only the Indian team and the Australian team qualified for the finals.

The Indian team has been the most successful team in this tournament which has not lost a single match in the entire World Cup.

Going undefeated in the entire World Cup is an unusual feat, but Rohit’s India have done it and are just one win away from the title.

Which teams in the history of the World Cup have become champions so far without losing a match in the entire event?

West Indies Teams World Cup 1975:

West Indies Teams World Cup 1975

In the first World Cup in the history of cricket played in the year 1975, the West Indian team under the leadership of Clive Lloyd was unbeaten in the entire tournament. The West Indian team played a total of five matches in that World Cup in which they won all the matches including the final.

West Indies World Cup 1979:

West Indies  World Cup 1979

After winning the first World Cup, the West Indian team once again won the 1979 title under the leadership of Clive Lloyd. In this World Cup, West Indies won five matches while their match against Sri Lanka was inconclusive due to rain.

In the World Cup played in 2007, Australia won the title for the third time in a row (Photo: AFP). It was the second consecutive trophy to his name. In this World Cup, under the leadership of Ricky Ponting, the Australian team won 11 consecutive matches including the final.

Australia  World Cup 2007:

Australia  World Cup 2007

In the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup played in the West Indies, the Kangaroos won the trophy for the third time in a row and the fourth time overall. Like the 2003 World Cup, in this World Cup too, Australia won all 11 matches including the final.

If the Indian team succeeds in defeating Australia in the World Cup final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19, India will become the third country to win the World Cup without losing a match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *