Menu Close

Womens Premier League Latest News 2024

Womens Premier League 2024 new Update

Womens Premier League

The second season of the Women’s Premier League began on Friday (February 23) with holders Mumbai Indians defending their title against inaugural edition runners-up Delhi Capitals at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.Womens Premier League

For the first half, yes. The five-team competition features 22 games, including knockouts, and is split evenly between the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Bengaluru and Delhi. Bangalore will host the first leg, which will last until March 4, and the first match in Delhi will begin the following day, on March 5. The eliminator and final will also be held on March 15 and 17 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. respectively

Has the structure of the tournament changed since last year?

Not in the number of teams, and none in the format. Each team will play the remaining four twice in a double round robin format. The table toppers advance directly to the finals as last time, and the second and third placed teams will battle it out in an eliminator for their right to take part in the finals. The only minor change is that there are no double headers this time around.

All games start at 7:30 PM IST, all played back to back. There is only one break day before both knockouts.

Is there a flip of the bat, as in the WBBL?

No, just a normal coin toss like IPL. Fun fact: Harmanpreet Kaur lost seven in a row last season before finally winning one. Overall, Mumbai Indians lost nine toss out of ten matches played.

So, like the IPL, does everything have an impact in the WPL?

Unfortunately not. With only 11 players named as captains in the toss, any hesitancy will surely disappear if needed.

Womens Premier League What is DRS?

Yes. All games are televised in full with DRS, and each team will have 2 reviews per inning.

Can players predict wides and no balls using DRS in WPL as well?

Absolutely. WPL 2023 was the first instance in T20 league cricket where this DRS rule amendment was implemented. After that, the IPL season started.

Was there a surprise release before the mini-auction?

The release of Annabelle Sutherland (Gujarat Giants) Devika Vaidya and Shabnam Ismail (UP Warriors) made headlines. Two out of three have found new homes. The Giants released 10 of their 18-man squad, which included national stars S Meghana, Mansi Joshi, and Sushma Verma, as well as foreigners like Sophia Dunkley and Kim Garth. MI left Heather Graham and Dan van Niekerk’s RCB without playing in WPL 2023. Megan Shutt was another notable release from the RCB squad while Delhi Capitals parted with USA’s Tara Norris, the first associate representative of the competition. .

What were the auction highlights before season 2?

Untouchable Kashvi Gautam, who fetched a deal of INR 2 crore from Giants, became the highest-paid player in the auction, 20 times her base price. Since then, the weaker fast bowler has been ruled out due to injury. Sutherland fetched the same salary from Delhi Capitals, making him the most expensive overseas buy of the mini-auction. Next was Shabnam Ismail, who was signed by MI for INR 1.2 crore while Karnataka’s top-order batsman Vrinda Dinesh was signed by Warriors for INR 1.3 crore. The only other player to earn an eight-figure salary was Australian batsman Phoebe Litchfield, who is set to make her WPL debut for the Giants. Among the inclusions for India, Veda Krishnamurthy got a late entry into the GG squad at a basic price after being overlooked by five teams in the early season.

Women’s Premier League?

It was almost criminal that Chamari Athapathu had to be dropped for the second consecutive season but better sense prevailed and UP Warriors brought in the Sri Lankan captain as a replacement. No such luck for T20 globetrotter Deandra Dutton or India’s leg-spinning all-rounder Devika Vaidya, who signed a contract of INR 1.6 crore in the opening season. Norris, who registered his first WPL goal on debut, and Australia’s Kim Garth failed to find a new club for a second season.

Any new shows after the auction?

RCB’s Heather Knight and UP Warriors’ Lauren Bell as England Women’s scheduled bilateral series in New Zealand begins just two days after the WPL 2024 final. And, the ECB is understood to have given WPL-affiliated players the option to skip the first three of the five T20Is in New Zealand, the schedule for which was locked months in advance. In return for full participation. Instead, Knight and Bell chose to focus on international cricket. In their place, Nadine de Klerk (South Africa) and Athapathu (Sri Lanka) are being included in both teams respectively.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback:Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalandars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *